Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
August Lourenco Letters
Collection
Identifier: MS 00036
Content Description
The collection contains letters belonging to August "Auggie" Lourenco, a Portuguese-American from Newark, New Jersey, who served in the United States Army during World War II. Most letters are addressed to his girlfriend-then-wife, Anna "Ann" Lourenco (née Ertman), a second-generation Polish immigrant. Lourenco joined the United States Army in 1943 and completed his basic training at Camp Gordon, Georgia and Nashville, Tennessee, before being sent to Yuma, Arizona for additional training....
Dates:
1943-1969
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Carl S. Worboys Letters
Collection
Identifier: SC 00442
Content Description
Carl Stape Worboys, MD (1911-1992), Captain, US Army WWII. 27 letters and VMails from Dr. Worboys to his family, written from Europe between 1943-1945 while he served in the US Army aboard the USS Seminole and USS Acadia, both hospital ships. Dr. Worboys writes about his travel across the Atlantic, weather and conditions in Europe and the Mediterranean, books he has read, church services, and the lack of alcohol to the troops. He states in one letter that some of the men are torn of where...
Dates:
1943-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard Kidd papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00357
Content Description
Personal correspondence including a letter from Richard Kidd to "Bonnie and kids" and a citation from the United States Army signed by Lt. Col., AGD, Adjutant General, Mark Amen. Photographs contained in the collection include those that depict soldiers and life during World War II. Postcards of Germany and photographs of the Statue of Liberty circa 1945 are also included. There is an accompanying essay written 2022 April 28 by Sydney Kidd Finneran titled "Propagation for...
Dates:
Circa 1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Amos Koontz Papers II
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 K83
Scope and Contents
Personal and professional papers of Amos Ralph Koontz, surgeon. The personal papers, 1865-1986, include the correspondence of Koontz, his wife, Besse (Stocking) Koontz and their son, James William Koontz. Included are travel diaries, documents concerning the College of William and Mary and Johns Hopkins and material relating to social clubs and societies. The professional papers contain correspondence relating to Koontz' medical practice, political material, documents pertaining to military...
Dates:
1865-1970
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center